Hit and Run
If a driver hits a pedestrian with his or her vehicle and leaves the scene of the accident, the crime is often referred to as a “hit and run.” The penalties for hit and run offenses in Wisconsin have recently been increased and may have serious consequences for those who have been charged with this crime.
Wisconsin state law requires that any driver involved in an accident with a pedestrian immediately stop and render medical assistance if necessary. The authorities should be contacted immediately and all legal information should be gathered at the scene. For more information on hit and run crimes in Wisconsin, contact the Appleton criminal defense lawyers of Kohler Hart Powell, SC at 414-271-9595.
Hit and Run Penalties
Hit and run accidents are regarded as serious offenses and are often prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. Penalties for hit and run offenses typically include:
- Class E felony conviction if the victim suffers serious bodily injury
- Class F felony conviction if the victim dies as a result of the accident
- Fines ranging from $50 to $10,000 depending on the nature of the accident
- Significant jail time if the victim suffered serious bodily injury or death
- Imprisonment for up to 90 days if the victim did not suffer major bodily injury
The new laws in Wisconsin set penalties for leaving the scene of an injury accident to fines of up to $10,000 and up to fifteen years in jail. Fleeing the scene of an accident involving the death of a person may result in fines of up to $100,000 and imprisonment for up to 25 years.
If you have been accused of fleeing the scene of a hit and run accident, you will need an experienced legal representative on your side. Contact the Appleton criminal defense lawyers of Kohler Hart Powell, SC at 414-271-9595 to formulate your defense.