Minor in Possession
It is illegal for anyone who is under 21 years of age to be in possession of alcohol in the United States. For this reason, underage drinkers are often charged with the crime of minor in possession, or MIP as it is often called. This offense is typically a misdemeanor, and it can leave minors facing consequences such as license suspension and fines.
If you or your child has been charged with an MIP, it is important to have an experienced criminal defense lawyer in order to ensure that as little punishment is meted as possible. For help with handling your charges during this difficult time, contact the experienced Appleton criminal defense lawyers of Kohler Hart Powell, SC today by calling 414-271-9595.
Penalties for MIP Convictions in Wisconsin
The punishment for an MIP usually depends on whether the accused individual is a first-time offender or a repeat offender. The repercussions for a minor in possession conviction in Wisconsin include:
- Up to a $3000 fine
- Up to one year in jail
- Community service
- Required alcohol consumption classes
There are also residual punishments of conviction, such as potential roadblocks to educational or professional opportunities. However, it is important to note that there are several exceptions to MIP charges, such as possession while under the direct supervision of parents or legal guardians.
Contact an Appleton Criminal Defense Attorney
It is a terrible thing when an MIP tarnishes a young adult’s record for years to come. To prevent your child from suffering the harshest punishments of the law, contact us today. To learn more about our services or to discuss your particular case, call the Appleton criminal defense lawyers of Kohler Hart Powell, SC today at 414-271-9595.