What is the Age of Consent in Rape Cases?
Rape is a very sensitive issue in the United States. It is legally defined as forcing unwanted sexual intercourse or contact with another individual who has not given consent. In many states, the term “sexual assault” is used in place of rape. No matter the legal term used, people often question what actually constitutes consent and at what age can an individual give consent.
Rape charges held against you is a serious situation and could destroy your personal life and professional reputation. If you are convicted of rape, you may be spending years in prison and could face the rest of your life as a sex offender. You need a qualified criminal defense lawyer to fight for you. Contact the Appleton sexual assault attorneys of Kohler Hart Powell, SC today at 414-271-9595 and schedule a consultation to discuss your legal options.
Age of Consent in Wisconsin
There are several important things to know regarding the age of consent in the state of Wisconsin, including the following points:
- The age of consent for sexual content is 18 years old, including male-female, male-male, and female-female relations
- Intercourse with a minor under the age of 16 is a class C felony
- Intercourse with minor 16 years of age or older is a class A misdemeanor
- A close-in-age exemption does not apply in the state of Wisconsin
Facing a rape charge can be a very difficult time in your life, but you need to know that you are not alone. By contacting a criminal defense attorney, we can help you fight.
If you have been charged with sexual assault, we can help you defend your rights. Call the Appleton sexual assault lawyers of Kohler Hart Powell, SC today at 414-271-9595 for more information regarding your legal options.