Wisconsin Firearm Sales Laws
Throughout the United States there are a number of laws that restrict who may buy guns, who may own guns, and in what capacity guns may be used. Each state has the ability to set a unique set of laws concerning firearms. In Wisconsin there are a number of regulations for the sale of firearms. If a person is accused of violating these laws, he or she could face jail time and serious fines.
If you or someone you love has been arrested for violation of firearm sales laws, you have a right to seek legal counsel for the protection of your rights and freedoms. Contact the Appleton criminal defense attorneys of Kohler Hart Powell, SC today at 888-565-7597 to get the assistance and support you deserve.
Firearm Purchasing Laws in Wisconsin
Throughout the state of Wisconsin the following legal restrictions apply to the sale and purchasing of firearms:
- Within 24 hours of obtaining a secondhand gun or firearm, the secondhand dealer must make the item available for inspection by a law enforcement officer.
- No second hand dealer may obtain a firearm or ammunition without receiving valid proof of identification from the seller and after an official transfer form is filled out.
- Before the transfer of a handgun may go through, it is necessary for the obtainer to fill out an official notification form, which includes a background check.
- If this form comes back with an approval from the Department of Justice, there must be a 48 hour waiting period before the handgun may be obtained by the purchaser.
Violations of these laws are strictly penalized. If you have been accused of breaking one or more of the above laws, you need a thorough understanding of your rights and legal options.
Contact an Appleton Criminal Defense Lawyer
When it comes to protecting your freedom, it is important you have the support and assistance of an experienced professional. If you have been arrested for a criminal violation the Appleton criminal defense attorneys of Kohler Hart Powell, SC can help. Contact our office today at 888-565-7597 to get started on your case.