Wisconsin Marijuana Penalties
Under Wisconsin law, drug possession is a very serious crime. Despite the legalization of marijuana in other places, marijuana possession of any amount is a crime in Wisconsin. Therefore, it is important to be familiar with Wisconsin marijuana possession and drug paraphernalia laws.
Wisconsin Marijuana Possession Laws
In the state of Wisconsin, the following marijuana possession laws apply:
- First offense, with any amount, is a misdemeanor with a punishment of a maximum of six months in jail and a $1,000 fine. Conditional discharge, or dismissal of certain punishments if the defendant complies with certain conditions, is available for first time offenders.
- Second or multiple offense, with any amount, is punishable as a felony with a maximum of 3.5 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
An additional 100 hours of community service are added to the sentence if the possession was within 1,000 feet of a public park or pool, school property, or a youth or community center.
Wisconsin Drug Paraphernalia Laws
The following laws apply to possession of drug paraphernalia in Wisconsin:
- Paraphernalia possession is a misdemeanor, with a maximum of 30 days in jail and a $500 fine.
- Sale of drug paraphernalia is a misdemeanor, with a maximum of 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.
- Sale of drug paraphernalia to a minor is a misdemeanor, with a maximum of nine months in jail and a $10,000 fine.
All drug paraphernalia convictions include a driver’s license suspension of six months to five years. For multiple offenders, penalties may be doubled.
If you have been charged with possession of marijuana or drug paraphernalia, you need a qualified attorney to represent you in court. The Appleton criminal defense attorneys of Kohler Hart Powell, SC can evaluate your case and discuss with you your legal options. Contact us today at 414-271-9595