Home  >  Practice Areas  >  State Practice Area  >  Sex Crimes  >  Rape Sexual Assault Defense

Appleton Sexual Assault Defense Lawyers

Rape

Under Wisconsin law, rape is officially known third degree sexual assault, a felony. If there are certain aggravating factors involved, such as serious injury to the victim or very young age of the victim, then the charge can be increased to second or first degree sexual assault. These are all very serious accusations that carry severe penalties.

Third Degree Sexual Assault

Wisconsin defines third degree sexual assault as having sexual intercourse with a person without the consent of that person. In the absence of aggravating factors, it is a Class G Felony.

Second Degree Sexual Assault

Rape becomes second degree sexual assault, a Class C felony, if any of the following factors are involved:

  • The accused used threat of violence during the assault
  • The assault caused injury, illness, or mental trauma to the victim
  • The victim was known to be intoxicated or incapacitated in any other way
  • The victim is a patient of the accused

First Degree Sexual Assault

Rape is considered first degree sexual assault, a Class B felony, if any of these factors apply:

  • The accused used a dangerous weapon, or something designed to look like one
  • The victim suffered great bodily harm, including impregnation
  • The victim is a minor child

Penalties for Sexual Assault

All forms of sexual assault are punished severely under Wisconsin law. For example:

  • Third Degree: Up to 10 years in prison and/or a $25,000 fine
  • Second Degree: Up to 40 years in prison and/or a $100,000 fine
  • First Degree: Up to 60 years in prison

Contact an Appleton Defense Attorney

If you have been accused of committing rape, your reputation, livelihood, and freedom could all be at risk. To speak with an experienced Appleton rape defense attorney, call the offices of Hart Powell, S.C. today at 414-271-9595.